OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Oct. 21, 2014) - From coast to coast to coast, directors, playwrights, designers and other artisans work together to create quality works of theatre. The theatrical world abounds with talented people who deserve our recognition.

The Siminovitch Prize was created in 2000 and is the largest prize in Canadian theatre. Every year, the prize goes to a creator who has demonstrated excellence and innovation. This year, the prize goes to a playwright.

I wish to warmly congratulate Olivier Choinière, winner of the 2014 Siminovitch Prize.

Our Government knows that Canadian theatre professionals, including the excellent playwrights nominated for this year's Siminovitch Prize, foster the cultural and economic growth of our communities. Their work inspires us and makes us proud.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I thank the organizers of the Siminovitch Prize in theatre and all those who contribute to the development of Canadian theatre.

Stay connected

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and Flickr.

Contact Information:

Marisa Monnin
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages