TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - October 27, 2014) - Excellence Canada is pleased to announce that, at the 30th anniversary of the Canada Awards for Excellence, 17 Canadian organizations will be receiving the Canada Awards for Excellence for outstanding performance in award categories that include: Excellence, Innovation & Wellness; Quality; Healthy Workplace®; and Mental Health at Work®.

Gary Seveny, Chairman of the Board of Governors of Excellence Canada, stated: "We are so very proud to bestow Canada Awards for Excellence upon 17 outstanding recipients that have demonstrated fortitude, commitment and foresight in making tangible contributions within their organizations and economic impact on Canada as a whole. Our award recipients are role models of excellence in the areas of leadership, governance, strategy, planning, customer experience, employee engagement, innovation, and wellness. We applaud their outstanding achievements."

The Canada Awards for Excellence is an annual awards program that recognizes outstanding achievements by organizations in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors, from coast-to-coast across Canada. Allan Ebedes, President and CEO of Excellence Canada, commented: "This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Canada Awards for Excellence, an anniversary that we can all take great pride in. Over the past 30 years we have recognized over 500 outstanding organizations for meeting the highest standards of quality, excellence, innovation, and healthy workplaces. This year we are delighted to have Hayley Wickenheiser and Mark McEwan deliver keynote addresses, and we will learn from the presentations of 6 CEOs and senior leaders, as well as hearing the success stories of this year's 17 recipients of the Canada Awards for Excellence. Our Board of Governors will be presenting Col. Chris Hadfield with the Special Recognition of Achievement Award for his work representing Canada in space exploration and as the Commander of the International Space Station."

Excellence Canada's mandate is to help private and public sector organizations implement standards of excellence. Excellent organizations share the same attributes. Employees and customers seek out organizations with these attributes. Excellence Canada is the only not-for-profit organization that certifies and recognizes organizations that embody these attributes; they are customer focused, competitive, economically and environmentally sustainable, are good corporate citizens and actively pursue strategies to improve the mental and physical health and safety of their employees, to create a healthy workplace culture that attracts and retains the best people.

The awards will be presented at the 2014 Canada Awards for Excellence on Thursday, October 30th at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto.


Recipients of the 30th Canada Awards for Excellence, 2014

This is the highest level of recognition presented by Excellence Canada.

The following organizations have successfully maintained a focus on excellence over the long term and have previously received the Canada Awards for Excellence Gold Trophy. These awards will be presented by Gary Seveny, Chairman, Excellence Canada, and Allan Ebedes, President and CEO, Excellence Canada.

Order of Excellence: Quality

  • Cargill Value Added Meats - Canada, London, Ontario
  • Hill+Knowlton Strategies Canada (Head Office), Toronto, Ontario

Order of Excellence: Quality & Healthy Workplace®

  • Toronto East General Hospital, Toronto, Ontario


This award is based on Excellence Canada's Excellence, Innovation and Wellness Standard. Presented by Sun Life Financial Canada.

Gold Award Recipients

  • Business and Service Management Branch, Central Agencies I&IT Cluster, Treasury Board Secretariat, Province of Ontario
  • PowerStream Inc., Vaughan, Ontario

Silver Award Recipients

  • BC Wildfire Management Branch, Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations, Government of British Columbia
  • Canadian Forces Housing Agency, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, Ontario
  • Town of Okotoks, Okotoks, Alberta


This award is presented by Sun Life Financial Canada and based on Excellence Canada's Progressive Excellence Program® (PEP) -- Quality and Healthy Workplace® Criteria.

Gold Award Recipients

  • Peel Regional Police, (Brampton and Mississauga) Ontario


The Healthy Workplace® award, presented by Kimberly-Clark Professional, is based on Excellence Canada's Canadian Healthy Workplace® Framework developed in partnership with Health Canada and in association with professionals from the health and wellness sectors.

Gold Award Recipients

  • ArcelorMittal Dofasco, Hamilton, Ontario
  • Ontario Ministry of Labour, Province of Ontario


The Mental Health at Work® award, presented by Manulife Financial, is based on Excellence Canada's -- Mental Health at Work® requirements.

Gold Award Recipients

  • Bell, Montreal, Quebec
  • Mental Health Commission of Canada, Calgary, Alberta

Bronze Award Recipient

  • North York General Hospital, Toronto, Ontario


This award is based on the Canadian Framework for Excellence which is used by numerous organizations as a management model for continuous improvement and the achievement of significant operational results. These awards will be presented by Ricoh Canada Inc.

Silver Award Recipients

  • Acadian Seaplants Limited, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Certificate of Merit Recipient -- Project Category

  • Architecture, Information Management and Project Management Office Branch, Central Agencies I&IT Cluster, Treasury Board Secretariat, Province of Ontario


The Education Award, presented by Ricoh Canada, is based on comprehensive quality criteria modeled after the Canadian Excellence in Education progressive program.

Gold Award Recipient

  • Orono Public School, Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board, Orono, Ontario


From time-to-time, the Excellence Canada Board of Governors recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian society and/or the global human condition. Past Award recipients have included Dr. David Suzuki, former Prime Minister The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Lt.-General The Honourable Roméo A. Dallaire, The Honourable Flora MacDonald, Sir Richard Branson, and Mr. Rick Hansen. This year, in keeping with the Summit theme "Redefining Excellence in a New Era: Preserving the Past, Forging the Future", the Board of Governors is presenting the Special Recognition of Achievement Award, for leadership and for having made a significant contribution to Canada and to society in general, to Colonel Chris Hadfield, first Canadian commander of the International Space Station and most accomplished astronaut in Canadian history. 


Excellence Canada gratefully acknowledges the support of the following organizations that have helped make this year's events possible.

Champions of Excellence
Kimberly-Clark Professional
Manulife Financial
Sun Life Financial

Benefactor and Networking Break Sponsor
Ricoh Canada Inc.

Benefactor Sponsor
Great-West Life

Lunch Sponsor

Networking Break Sponsor
CPA Ontario

Supporter Sponsors
Hill+Knowlton Strategies
PowerStream Inc.
Vidium Media Production
Workplace Safety & Insurance Board

Industry Sponsors
Calian Technologies Ltd
Delta Hotels and Resorts
Niagara College Canada
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver

Media Sponsors
National Post
Your Workplace Magazine

Contact Information:

For further information, contact:
Gary Seveny
Board Chairman of Excellence Canada
Tel: 613-692-2391

Allan Ebedes
President and CEO, Excellence Canada
Tel: 416-251-7600, ext. 230