OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Jan. 15, 2015) - Canadians learned today which of our talented artists and creators will represent our country at the 87th Academy Awards.

I would like to congratulate all the Canadians who received Oscar nominations, including:

Best Animated Feature Film
Dean DeBlois for How to Train Your Dragon 2
Graham Annable for The Boxtrolls
Best Short Film (Animated)
Torill Kove for Me And My Moulton

I would also like to congratulate Jean-Marc Vallée, the director of Wild. The film earned several notable nominations, including Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role and Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role.

My congratulations to Tegan and Sara who perform Everything Is Awesome from The Lego Movie nominated for Best Original Song, Music and Lyrics by Shawn Patterson.

Robert Bridson also deserves recognition as one of the first Academy Award winners of the year. He received a Technical Achievement Award for significant innovation in the visual effects industry.

Our Government knows that the Canadian audiovisual industry contributes to the vitality of our culture and is an important sector of our economy. This is why we are proud to invest more than $660 million in the audiovisual sector every year through Telefilm Canada, the National Film Board of Canada, the Canada Media Fund and tax credit programs.

On behalf of the Government of Canada and of all Canadians, I wish the nominees the best of luck at the 87th Academy Awards ceremony on February 22, 2015.

Stay Connected

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and Flickr.

Contact Information:

Marisa Monnin
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages