VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Feb. 13, 2015) - Four of Canada's best non-fiction writers will be honoured today and the winner of the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will be announced.

WHO: BC's Minister of Education Peter Fassbender will present the 11th annual award

WHEN: Friday, February 13, (Ceremony begins at 12:45pm; Award announcement approximately 1:20pm-1:45pm).

WHERE: Waterfront Ballroom, Fairmont Waterfront Hotel, 900 Canada Place

This year's finalists are Karyn L. Freedman for One Hour in Paris: A True Story of Rape and Recovery; Chantal Hébert with Jean Lapierre for The Morning After: The 1995 Quebec Referendum and The Day That Almost Was; Alison Pick for Between Gods: A Memoir; and James Raffan for Circling the Midnight Sun: Culture and Change in the Invisible Arctic.

A summary of all the finalists is posted at

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province to recognize and celebrate BC's spirit of excellence.

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction is a $40,000 award and the only major Canadian literary award presented in British Columbia.

Contact Information:

BC Achievement Foundation
Nora Newlands
Executive Director