Connecticut Technology Council Announces the 2015 Women of Innovation(R)

Women Innovators and Leaders to be Honored April 1

E. Hartford, Connecticut, UNITED STATES

HARTFORD, Conn., Feb. 23, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) announces that 56 women have been selected as Women of Innovation for the 2015 Women of Innovation awards program. The program recognizes women across Connecticut – those in the workforce and students – who are innovators, role models and community leaders in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math.

The 56 honorees will be recognized and a winner in each of eight award categories will be announced during the Women of Innovation awards program at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville on April 1. Ticket purchases and registration for the 2015 event are available online through the CTC website; The complete list of 2015 Women of Innovation is posted below.

The Women of Innovation were nominated by their peers and selected based on their professional experience, history of innovation, ability to think creatively and solve problems, and demonstration of leadership. Students were judged on inventiveness, accomplishment in science and technology, independent research, and academic achievement.

"Each year the Women of Innovation awards ceremony honors outstanding women who have made contributions in their professions, studies, and in many cases, their communities," said Beth Alquist, planning committee chair for the Women of Innovation awards program. "The 2015 Women of Innovation awards dinner is an inspirational time to celebrate these women and their accomplishments."

This year's list of 56 women includes researchers, educators, engineers, managers, students and entrepreneurs who work in biotech, pharmaceuticals, software, computer hardware, advanced materials, medical devices, and information technology.

High school, undergraduate and graduate students who have demonstrated extraordinary and unique achievements in their technology disciplines are also among the finalists. The winner in the Youth Innovation and Leadership category will receive a $4,000 scholarship from Covidien, one of the event's presenting sponsors.

The Women of Innovation awards presenting sponsors are the pharmaceutical company, Boehringer Ingelheim USA Corporation, medical device manufacturer Covidien, the law firm of Day Pitney LLP and United Technologies Corporation. Supporting Sponsors include AT&T, Frontier Communications, General Electric, and Pfizer Inc.

For questions regarding the program or awards dinner please contact Mike Scricca at 860.289.0878 x334.

Below is a list of the 2015 Women of Innovation with their affiliated towns:

Keshia Ashe, Co-Founder & CEO, ManyMentors, Newington
Serap Aksoy, Professor, Yale School of Public Health, New Haven
Medria Blue-Ellis, Principal, Engineering & Science University Magnet School, Hamden
Lisa Braden-Harder, CEO, Appen, Ridgefield
Sarah Bugaj, Engineering Part Family Manager, Pratt & Whitney, East Hartford
Stormy Chamberlain, Assistant Professor of Genetics & Developmental Biology, UCONN, Farmington
Janis Collins, Co-Founder, The Refinery, Westport
Patricia Cushman, Manager of Environment Health & Safety, United Technologies Research Center, East Hartford
Emily Davis, Senior Development Engineer, Covidien, North Haven
Wendy Davis, Founder, GestVision, Inc., New Haven
Deborah Dorcemus, Student, UCONN, Danbury
Wafa Elmannai, Ph. D. Student, University of Bridgeport, Bridgeport
Katherine Emery, CEO , The Walker Group/reSET, Farmington
Maureen Ezzo, Air Vehicle Project Lead Executive Transport Development Programs, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, Northford
Lynn Fiellin, Associate Professor of Medicine, Yale School of Public Health, New Haven
Marisha Godek, Principal Research Scientist, Covidien, North Haven
Heidi Gold, Founder & CEO, Little Scientists, Milford
Emma Goodman, Student, Greenwich High School, Greenwich
Sapna Gupta, Ph. D. Student, UCONN, Storrs
Megan Hislop, Student, Central Connecticut State University, Torrington
Jeannette Ickovics, Associate Professor of Medicine, UCONN, New Haven
Odia Kane, Student, Engineering & Science University Magnet School, New Haven
Janine Kerr, Student, Danbury High School, Danbury
Leslie Krumholz, CEO, Goodstreets, Guilford
Christina Lampe-Onnerud, Founder & CEO, CLOTEAM LLC, Wilton
Lindsey Landry, Senior Engineer, Pratt & Whitney, East Hartford
Victoria Liu, Student, Amity Regional High School, Bethany
Amy Lydon, Intellectual Property Counsel, Covidien, New Haven
Allison MacKay, Associate Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering, UCONN, Storrs
Radenka Maric, Connecticut Clean Energy Professor in Sustainable Energy, UCONN, Storrs
Vicky Margiott, Lead EMU Systems Engineers, UTC Aerospace Systems, South Windsor
Anubhuti Mathur, Student, Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury
Susan McNulty-LoPiccolo, Senior Manager Portfolio Management, Pfizer, Inc., Groton
Sarah Mehner, Director of Operations, Connecticut Information Security, Wilton
Sarah Mogielnicki, Student, Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science, Berlin
Rebecca Napolitano, Student, Connecticut College, New London
Lizette Nigro, Vice President, Product Operations Fiserv, Glastonbury
Cindy Oksanen, Senior Director, Pfizer, Inc., Groton
Julie Olson, Business Mentor/Growth Advisor, SECT Tech/CTNext, Pawcatuck
Anna Patrizzi, Procurement Director, International Parts Center, Global Supply Chain, Pratt & Whitney, East Hartford
Shelley Phelan, Professor of Biology, Fairfield University, Fairfield
Diane Pintavalle, Instructor of Advanced Research Mentorship & AP Biology, Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury
Maryne Robin, Founder & President, NANTES Solutions, LLC, Stamford
Yu-Hui Rogers, Site Director, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine, Farmington
Nicole Russo, President, Microboard Processing, Inc., Seymour
Kimberly Sendlein, Electrical Design Manager of Advanced Programs, UTC Aerospace Systems, Marlborough
Jade Smart, Student, Hamden High School, Hamden
Ellen Su, Founder, Wellinks, New Haven
Karen Tepper, Vice President of Mobile,, Norwalk
Allison Thomas, ORION Air Revitalization System Lead-UTAS ISR & Space Systems, UTC Aerospace Systems, Hampden MA
Lynn Tinker, CH-53K Chief System Engineer, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, Stratford
Kyle Vanderlick, Dean, Yale School of Engineering & Applied Science, New Haven
Monika Weber, Ph. D. Student, Yale University, New Haven
Phyllis Winters, President & Founder, Information Technology Group, North Haven
Martha Yaney, Owner, Vista Group International, Inc., Norwalk
Quing Zhu, Professor of Electrical Engineering, UCONN, Storrs

About The Connecticut Technology Council

The Connecticut Technology Council is a statewide association of technology oriented companies and institutions, providing leadership in areas of policy advocacy, community building and assistance for growing companies. Speaking for over 2,000 companies that employ some 200,000 residents, the Connecticut Technology Council seeks to provide a strong and urgent voice in support of the creation of a culture of innovation. This includes working to position Connecticut as a leader in idea creation, workforce preparation, entrepreneurial aptitude, early stage risk capital availability and providing on-going support and mentoring to high potential firms. For more information, visit


Contact Data