Source: Ontario Secondary Schools Teachers' Federation

Media Advisory: OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards 2015

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - March 11, 2015) -

Attention: Assignment editor and education reporters

On Saturday March 14, at 1:30 p.m. at the annual meeting of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), students from across Ontario will be honoured for their outstanding abilities and creativity as provincial winners of the Student Achievement Awards in honour of Marion Drysdale.

For over twenty-five years, the Student Achievement Awards have been one of Ontario's most prestigious awards celebrating the artistic and academic creations of students in public high schools. Any Ontario public high school student may enter work into one of eight categories and submissions are judged on school, district, regional and provincial levels. The eight provincial winners are brought to Toronto to receive their awards at the OSSTF/FEESO annual general meeting and they are featured in a twenty minute video. Each provincial winner also receives a cash award of $1,000.

This year's theme, Transforming Character(s)... inspired students to explore the topic through prose, poetry, painting and video.

OSSTF/FEESO President Paul Elliott will present awards to the following:

Prose and Poetry Division
Category A1—Intermediate, 9-10 Academic
Curtis Jeffrey, Goderich District Collegiate Institute, District 8, Avon Maitland
Category A2—Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential
Cassie Dodge, Sarnia Collegiate Institute & Technical School, District 10, Lambton Kent
Category A3—Senior, 11-12 University
Sarah Ariza-Verreault, Pickering High School, District 13, Durham
Category A4—Senior, 11-12 College/ Workplace
John Welsh, Ajax High School, District 13, Durham
Category A5—French
Tristan Gill, Académie catholique Ange-Gabriel, District 33, District de l'Est, Unité 66
Creative Division
Category B1—Visual Arts, Intermediate, 9-10
Daniel Ding, Markham District High School, District 16, York Region
Category B2—Visual Arts, Senior, 11-12
Emilia Radziwonik, Cawthra Park Secondary School, District 19, Peel
Category B3—Digital Arts, 9-12
Shun Yu Rao, Colonel By Secondary School, District 25, Ottawa-Carleton


The Student Achievement Awards ceremony features a professionally produced twenty minute video about the students and their winning submissions. Please contact the OSSTF/FEESO provincial office to order a copy.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information:

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
Randy Banderob
Executive Assistant
416.432.3304 or after March 16 at 416.751.8300