VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - March 17, 2015) - Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, today named this year's recipients of the B.C. Community Achievement Awards.

"These 2015 award recipients have all gone above and beyond to make their communities stronger," said Premier Christy Clark. "The whole province can be proud of their contributions."

"We recognize individuals today who have made a significant contribution either as volunteers or in the course of their work," said Mitchell. "We are privileged to showcase and celebrate the contributions of these exceptional British Columbians."

The recipients of the 2015 awards are:

  • Sue Bauman of Vancouver
  • Wayne Beckett of Port Alice
  • Anne Bethune of North Vancouver
  • Howard Blank of Vancouver
  • Thomas A. Budd of Kelowna
  • Sandy Burpee of Coquitlam
  • Pam Craig of Port Alberni
  • Mavis DeGirolamo of Victoria
  • Victoria Dobbyn of Roberts Creek
  • Louis Druehl of Bamfield
  • Tanya Fabrichnikova of Vancouver
  • Per Gjerde of Surrey
  • Judy Jackson of Prince George
  • Anjali Katta of Vancouver
  • Jack Keough of Clearwater
  • Dr. Jim Kirkpatrick of Victoria
  • Robert Krell of Vancouver
  • Wanda Laughlin of Sointula
  • Darren & Beth Laur of Victoria
  • Sandi Lavallie of Houston
  • Donna Macdonald of Nelson
  • J. Reid Maxwell of Coquitlam
  • Tom Moffat of Quesnel
  • Emily Molnar of Vancouver
  • Maryann Ouellet of Kitimat
  • Karen Pruim of Surrey
  • Dr. Tom Routledge of Coquitlam
  • Christopher Seguin of Kamloops
  • Colin Smith of Victoria
  • Agnes Snow of Prince George
  • Greg Timm of Surrey
  • Bob Uden of Nanaimo
  • Cindy Wilgosh of Clearwater
  • Richard Wruth of Vanderhoof

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2015 council members are Mayor Carol Leclerc of the City of Terrace, Mary Sjostrom, former mayor of the City of Quesnel, and past recipients, Roger Barnsley of Parksville, Michael McCoy of Richmond and Catherine Van Alstine of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2015 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony at Government House in Victoria on April 24, 2015. Each recipient will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the BC Community Achievement Awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.'s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations' Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.

For background about the recipients, please visit

Learn more about the BC Achievement Foundation at:

Contact Information:

BC Achievement Foundation
Nora Newlands
Executive Director