LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - May 26, 2015) -

Editors note: There is one photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation, together with London Underground, has won the Best New Rolling Stock Product award at this year's Railtex Awards held in Birmingham on May 13. The award recognized the exceptional performance and reliability of the new BOMBARDIER MOVIA S stock metro trains that are part of London Underground's prestigious Sub Surface Line (SSL) investment programme.

David Waboso, Capital Programmes Director at London Underground, said, "Our new trains built by Bombardier in Derby have created thousands of jobs in the UK and have proved an instant hit with our customers, and it's not hard to see why. These comfortable, spacious, accessible, air-conditioned trains will be serving 40 percent of the Tube network by the end of next year and are a major factor in making the sub-surface Tube lines fit for the demands of the future. I'm hugely pleased that we have been recognised by the Railtex Awards for this world-class new rolling stock."

Bombardier is producing 191 new trains for this upgrade project, which is the UK's largest rolling stock contract executed to date. In total, this delivery will consist of 1,395 vehicles: 58 eight-car S8 units for the Metropolitan Line and 133 seven-car S7 units for the other sub-surface lines.

The 131 MOVIA S stock metro trains already in service are delivering excellent levels of reliability, averaging in excess of 50,000 km between service affecting failures (MDBSAF). In addition, the new Bombardier trains in operation on the Victoria Line achieved a record level of 195,947 km MDBSAF in April this year. The delivery of the new S stock fleet is scheduled to be completed in 2016.

In presenting the Best New Rolling Stock Product Award, the judges looked for evidence of quality services and products, a positive impact on the industry and the innovative use of technology to improve efficiency and environmental impact.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, MOVIA, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/Bombardier_Transportation-Best_New_Rolling_Stock_Product_ORIG.jpg.

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information:

Bombardier Transportation
www.bombardier.com