WATERDOWN, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - July 17, 2015) - Opta Minerals Inc. (TSX:OPM) announced that at the annual meeting of shareholders held today, each of the six nominees set out in the management information circular dated June 15, 2015 were elected as directors of Opta Minerals.

Detailed voting results are set out below:

Nominee For Withheld
Jeremy Kendall 15,670,832 (99.84%) 24,700 (0.16%)
Steven Bromley 15,664,232 (99.80%) 31,300 (0.20%)
Donald Loeb 15,695,532 (100.00%) 0 (0.00%)
Bernard Rumbold 15,664,232 (99.80%) 31,300 (0.20%)
Joseph Riz 15,688,932 (99.95%) 6,600 (0.05%)
Austin Beutel 15,695,532 (100.00%) 0 (0.00%)

About Opta Minerals Inc.

Opta Minerals is a vertically integrated provider of custom process solutions and industrial mineral products used primarily in the steel, foundry, loose abrasive cleaning, water-jet cutting and municipal water filtration industries. The Company has production and distribution facilities in Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Louisiana, South Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Indiana, Michigan, New York, Texas, Florida, Ohio, Idaho, France, Slovakia and Germany. Opta has one of the broadest product lines in the industry.

Contact Information:

Opta Minerals Inc.
Bernard Rumbold, President and Chief Executive Officer
Peter Fryters, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
Tel: 905-689-7361, ext 405
Website: www.optaminerals.com