Four Algonquin First Nations Call for Protection of Algonquin Sacred Area and Oppose Re-Zoning of Lands for Windmill Development Project

ALGONQUIN TERRITORY, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Aug. 18, 2015) - The duly elected Chiefs and Councils from four Algonquin First Nations (Wolf Lake, Timiskaming, Eagle Village, Barriere Lake) announced today their adoption of Council Resolutions calling for the protection of an important Algonquin sacred area on the Ottawa River between the cities of Hull and Ottawa and opposing the amendment of the National Capital Commission and City of Ottawa's Master-Plans to re-zone the Chaudière and Albert Islands from "parks and open space" to "mixed-use" for the massive proposed Windmill urban development.

The long industrialized Akikodjiwan (Chaudière) waterfalls and the adjacent Gatineau waterfront and Chaudière, Albert and Victoria islands remain a sacred area for all Algonquin Peoples and should not be privatized. These are lands taken illegally, acquired by the federal government and leased to some of the power companies and pulp mills that destroyed Algonquin Territory and Algonquin livelihoods.

In 1613, Samuel du Champlain witnessed our Algonquin Peoples making a tobacco offering to our sacred waterfalls for good travel and good health in accordance with traditional Algonquin custom and in 1801, when Philemon Wright arrived in what is now known as Hull (Gatineau), Quebec he witnessed Algonquin Peoples' hunting and operating sugar bush camps on the North shore of our sacred area Akikodjiwan (Chaudière) waterfalls.

Our four First Nations are confirming we were not consulted by the governments of Canada, Quebec or Ontario, or the National Capital Commission or the municipalities of Gatineau or Ottawa regarding changes to the status of lands and islands within our Algonquin sacred area Akikodjiwan.

Our four Algonquin First Nations are also confirming our opposition to the re-zoning of our sacred area Akikodjiwan (Chaudière, Albert and Victoria islands in Ontario) from parks and open space to mixed use. As such, our four Algonquin First Nations confirm we are opposed to the Windmill Development Project proceeding within our sacred area Akikodjiwan.

Our four Algonquin First Nations call for our sacred area Akikodjiwan to be protected in perpetuity and recognized within the National Capital Region as an Algonquin Nation Cultural Park and Historic Commemoration Site under an Algonquin controlled institution to be established by the legitimate Algonquin First Nations.

Therefore, our four Algonquin First Nations call on the governments of Canada, Quebec, Ontario, the National Capital Commission and the municipalities of Gatineau and Ottawa to contact our duly elected Algonquin Chiefs and Councils to discuss the establishment of our proposed Algonquin Nation Cultural Park and Historic Commemoration Site.

Contact Information:

Wolf Lake First Nation
Chief Harry St. Denis
Office: (819) 627-9161

Timiskaming First Nation
Chief Terrance McBride
Office: (819) 723-2370

Eagle Village First Nation
Chief Lance Haymond
Office: (819) 627-3455

Algonquins of Barriere Lake
Chief Casey Ratt
Office: (819) 435-2181