CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Aug 26, 2015) -  The National Council of State Boards of Nursing Inc. (NCSBN®),, recognized its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony on Aug. 20, 2015, during the NCSBN Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly, held in Chicago, Aug. 19-21, 2015.

Specific award recipients include:

Rula Harb, MS, RN, former executive director, Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing, was honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and significant contributions through the highest commitment and dedication to the mission and vision of NCSBN.

Elizabeth Lund, MSN, RN, executive director, Tennessee State Board of Nursing, received the Meritorious Service Award, which is granted to a member for significant contributions to the mission and vision of NCSBN.

Deborah Haagenson, RN, president, Minnesota Board of Nursing, received the Elaine Ellibee Award that is granted to a member who has served as a board president within the past two years and who has made significant contributions to NCSBN.

Patricia "Tish" Smyer, DNSc, RN, CNE, past president, Nevada State Board of Nursing, posthumously received the Distinguished Achievement Award, which is given to an individual whose contributions or accomplishment has impacted NCSBN's mission and vision.

Janice Hooper, PhD, RN, FRE, CNE, board staff, Texas Board of Nursing, received the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is given for significant contribution by a member who is not a president or executive officer.

Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission was awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board or associate member that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the mission and vision of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

Retiring NCSBN CEO, Kathy Apple, MS, RN, FAAN, was honored with the Founders Award bestowed by the NCSBN Board of Directors. This prestigious award is given only upon occasion that an individual with ethics, integrity and sincerity has demonstrated the highest regard for the ideals and beliefs upon which NCSBN was founded.

In addition, service awards were given to the following executive officers of BONs:

Five Years
Joe Baker, Jr., executive director, Florida Board of Nursing
Jim Cleghorn, MA, executive director, Georgia Board of Nursing
Linda Davidson, APRN, executive director, Vermont State Board of Nursing
Cynthia Gustafson, PhD, RN, executive director, Montana Board of Nursing
Aurelia G. Long, RNC, WHNP, FNP, past board chairperson, Northern Mariana Islands Board of Nursing
Linda Stanger, executive director/registrar, College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta
Sue Tedford, MNSc, APN, RN, executive director, Arkansas State Board of Nursing
Lee Ann Teshima, executive officer, Hawaii Board of Nursing
Diane Wilson-Máté, MEd, RN, executive director, College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba
Pamela Zickafoose, EdD, RN, NE-BC, CNE, executive director, Delaware Board of Nursing

10 Years
Rula Harb, MS, RN, executive director, Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing
Betsy Houchen, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Ohio Board of Nursing

20 Years
Laura Rhodes, MSN, RN, executive director, West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses
Joey Ridenour, MN, RN, FAAN, executive director, Arizona State Board of Nursing
Katherine Thomas, MN, RN, FAAN, executive director, Texas Board of Nursing

30 Years
Elizabeth Lund, MSN, RN, executive director, Tennessee State Board of Nursing

The following BONs are celebrating 100 years of nursing regulation in 2015:
Alabama Board of Nursing
Maine State Board of Nursing
North Dakota Board of Nursing
Ohio Board of Nursing

Founded March 15, 1978, as an independent not-for-profit organization, NCSBN was created to lessen the burdens of state governments and bring together boards of nursing (BONs) to act and counsel together on matters of common interest. NCSBN's membership is comprised of the BONs in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also 24 associate members that are either nursing regulatory bodies or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories.

NCSBN Member Boards protect the public by ensuring that safe and competent nursing care is provided by licensed nurses. These BONs regulate more than 4.5 million licensed nurses.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information:

Dawn M. Kappel
Director, Marketing and Communications
312.525.3667 direct
312.279.1034 fax