BOSTON, MA--(Marketwired - Sep 16, 2015) - Established leaders and promising newcomers to the Massachusetts innovation economy were recognized by the Mass Technology Leadership Council at the 18th annual MassTLC Annual Leadership Awards Gala last night at Boston's Seaport World Trade Center. Hundreds of the region's top tech executives, community leaders, business luminaries and members of the media were on hand as winners in 16 hotly-contested categories were announced.

Four additional honors were also given for growing, changing, and inspiring lives through developing and promoting technology in the region. They included:

The 2015 Commonwealth Award: Michael Stonebraker, Professor of Computer Science at MIT; Co-director, CSAIL's Intel Sciences and Technology Center for Big Data, serial entrepreneur. A pioneer of database research and technology for more than 40 years, Stonebraker is a 2014 recipient of the ACM A.M. Turing Award. He is the main architect of the INGRES relational database management system and a founder of nine companies.

Distinguished Leadership Awards were given to:

  • John Harthorne, Founder and CEO, MassChallenge
  • Charlie LaFauci & Shawn Szturma, Somerville's STEM community leaders
  • Debbie Theobald, Executive Director, Vecna Cares

More information about the Commonwealth and Distinguished Leadership Award winners can be found here.

"Mike, Debbie, John, Charlie and Shawn epitomize the kind of innovative thinking and take-charge leadership that has characterized the Massachusetts innovation economy for more than three centuries," said Tom Hopcroft, CEO, MassTLC. "Not content to merely excel in their particular fields, each has recognized needs within their communities and taken the initiative to solve them. In so doing, they serve as tremendous inspiration for others."

Technology Leadership Award winners were selected from hundreds of nominations, as judged by panels of executives, investors, analysts, media and thought leaders in each of the 16 categories.

"The MassTLC Leadership Awards is our chance to recognize the significant contributions of companies that are changing the world by solving real problems and, in the process, continually invigorating Massachusetts' economy," Hopcroft said. "Each of the 2015 nominees, finalists -- and especially tonight's winners -- should be proud of the role they play in making our innovation community the envy of the world."

Winners in each of the 16 categories were:

CEO of the Year: Jim Heppelmann, CEO, PTC

CTO of the Year: Steve Conine, CTO, Wayfair

Emerging Executive of the Year: Jonathan Lacoste, COO, Jebbit

Private Company of the Year: Draft Kings

Public Company of the Year: Fleetmatics

Start-up to Watch: Admetsys

Innovative Technology of the Year - Big Data: Podium Data

Innovative Technology of the Year - Cloud: CloudHealth Technologies

Innovative Technology of the Year - Education Technology: HISTRY

Innovative Technology of the Year - Healthcare and Life Sciences: Empatica

Innovative Technology of the Year - Internet of Things: LogMeIn

Innovative Technology of the Year - Mobile Applications: TripAdvisor

Innovative Technology of the Year - Mobile Technology: ScratchWireless

Innovative Technology of the Year - Robotics: VGo Communications

Innovative Technology of the Year - Sales & Marketing: Mavrck

Innovative Technology of the Year - Security: Black Duck Software

Click here to view the full list of finalists online, or visit:

Awards Program Platinum Sponsors: Aericon, Heidrick & Struggles, Invest Northern Ireland, Invest Hong Kong, Marsh & McLennan Agency, Microsoft, PwC, Skyscope

Gold Sponsors: CenturyLink, CHEN PR, Cisco, K Square Law, Raytheon

About The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc.

With more than 550 member companies, the Mass Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC) is the region's leading technology association and the premier network for tech executives, entrepreneurs, investors and policy leaders. MassTLC's purpose is to accelerate innovation by connecting people from across the technology landscape, providing access to industry-leading content and ideas and offering a platform for visibility for member companies and their interests. More at

Contact Information:

For more information, contact:
Mike Spinney
PHONE 781-672-3112