CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Nov 2, 2015) - Semi-finalists for the 31st annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's best linebackers at the collegiate and high school levels were revealed today by the Butkus Foundation.

Ten linebackers from nine universities were named semi-finalists, including two high school Butkus Award winners, Jaylon Smith (2012) and Raekwon McMillan (2013).

Butkus Award 2015 Collegiate Semi-Finalists 
Kendell Beckwith Louisiana State University
Su'a Cravens University of Southern California
Kyler Fackrell Utah State University
Leonard Floyd University of Georgia
Deion Jones Louisiana State University
Blake Martinez Stanford University
Raekwon McMillan Ohio State University
Antonio Morrison University of Florida
Reggie Ragland University of Alabama
Jaylon Smith University of Notre Dame

Sixteen linebackers from high schools in eight states were named as high school semi-finalists.

Butkus Award 2015 High School Semi-Finalists 
Krys Barnes Liberty High School, Bakersfield, Calif.
Tuf Borland Bolingbrook High School, Ill.
Breland Brandt Windward High School, Los Angeles, Calif.
Devin Bush Flanagan High School, Pembroke Pines, Fla.
Ben Davis Gordo High School, Ala.
Michael Divinity John Ehret High School, Marrero, La.
Brendan Ferns Saint Clairsville High School, Ohio
Mique Juarez North High School, Torrance, Calif.
Caleb Kelly Clovis West High School, Fresno, Calif.
Tre Lamar Roswell High School, Ga.
Shaquille Quarterman Oakleaf High School, Orange Park, Fla.
Rahshaun Smith IMG Academy, Bradenton, Fla.
Lokeni Toailoa Wilmer Carter High School, Rialto, Calif.
Maxs Tupai Murray High School, Salt Lake City, Utah
Devin White North Webster High School, Springhill, La.
Lyndell Wilson Carver Senior High School, Montgomery, Ala.

Finalists in both divisions will be announced November 23, and winners will be notified on or before December 8. The Pro Butkus Award winner will be announced in early 2016.   

Selection is handled by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 process. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at

The 2014 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
  • Collegiate: Eric Kendricks, UCLA (now Minnesota Vikings)
  • High School: Malik Jefferson, Poteet, Mesquite, Tex. (now Texas)

The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus' I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at and on facebook at

The Butkus Award, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 22 most prestigious awards in college football with 700 years of selection excellence. Visit for more information.

Contact Information:

Ron Arp