VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Nov. 9, 2015) - The jury for the 12th Annual BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada's largest literary non-fiction prizes, has selected its longlist for 2016.

One hundred thirty-seven books by 35 publishers were nominated for the $40,000 prize from across the country. The prize jury has selected the following longlist of ten books.

Title Author Publisher
Dispatches from the Front: Canada's Voice at War David Halton Penguin Random House Canada
Stephen Harper John Ibbitson Penguin Random House Canada
Canoe Country: The Making of Canada Roy MacGregor Penguin Random House Canada
Genius at Play: The Curious Mind of John Horton Conway Siobhan Roberts Penguin Random House Canada
What is Government Good At? A Canadian Answer Donald J. Savoie McGill Queen's University Press
Fallen Kara Stanley Greystone Books Ltd.
Stalin's Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva Rosemary Sullivan Harper Collins
Beyond the Pale: Folklore, Family, and the Mystery of Our Hidden Genes Emily Urquhart Harper Collins
The Prison Book Club Ann Walmsley Penguin Random House Canada
The Right to be Cold: One Woman's Story of Protecting her Culture, the Arctic and the Whole Planet Sheila Watt-Cloutier Penguin Random House Canada

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will announce its shortlist in December and the award will be presented in Vancouver in early 2016.

The jury for the 2016 British Columbia Award for Canadian Non-Fiction comprises:

Anne Giardini, QC, Jury Chair, writer, director, lawyer, executive, and currently Chancellor of Simon Fraser University.

Richard Gwyn, a Toronto columnist, well-respected writer, and biographer of John A. Macdonald.

Hal Wake, Artistic Director of the Vancouver Writers Festival and a member of granting juries for Canada Council, BC Arts Council and the City of Vancouver.

"Congratulations to the 2016 longlist authors and our sincere thanks to the jury panel for their thoughtful deliberations," said BC Achievement Foundation chair Keith Mitchell. "The selected works show the remarkable breadth and vibrancy of non-fiction writing in Canada."

Previous winners of the BC Award include:

  • Karyn L. Freedman for One Hour in Paris: A True Story of Rape and Recovery (2015)
  • Thomas King for The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America (2014)
  • Modris Eksteins for Solar Dance: Genius, Forgery and the Crisis of Truth in the Modern Age (2013)
  • Charlotte Gill for Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with The Tree-Planting Tribe (2012)
  • John Vaillant for The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival (2011)
  • Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search for His Disabled Son (2010)
  • Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House (2009)
  • Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River: A Memory of My Mother and Her People (2008)
  • Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours? (2007)
  • Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006)
  • Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005)

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of British Columbia in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. This is the twelfth year in which the award will be presented.

For more information on the British Columbia National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction and on submission guidelines, please visit

Contact Information:

Cathryn Wilson
British Columbia Achievement Foundation