TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - December 16, 2015) - Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) educational support staff members have ratified the central collective agreement that was reached on November 27 between OSSTF/FEESO, the Government of Ontario, and the Council of Trustees' Associations (CTA), representing Ontario's publicly-funded school boards.

Ratification required a majority of total votes cast by OSSTF/FEESO support staff members, as well as approval in a majority of Bargaining Units across Ontario.

The terms of the newly-ratified central agreement will take effect immediately in school boards where local support staff agreements have been finalized. In boards where local support staff bargaining is still underway, the terms of the central deal will not take effect until those local agreements have been negotiated and ratified.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information:

Paul Elliott
Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
416.751.8300 or 1.800.267.7867