SAN FRANCISCO, Jan. 15, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Independent Selection Panel of the Bay Area CFO of the Year Awards announced today Peter Oppenheimer, former Senior Vice President and CFO, Apple Inc. was named as the recipient of the 2016 Hall of Fame - Lifetime Achievement Award. Peter, along with the finalists and winners in the six other CFO award categories, will be honored at the 11th Annual Bay Area CFO of the Year Awards event on May 12, 2016 at the Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco.

This annual sold-out awards dinner is attended by over 500 prominent Bay Area business executives. All proceeds benefit homeless and at-risk youth, ages 12-24, served by San Francisco's Larkin Street Youth Services, the leading nonprofit providing housing, education, job assistance, medical, and social services.

Oppenheimer, who joined Apple in 1996, is being recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for the many contributions he has made to Apple and the broader business community. Apple's annual revenue grew more than twentyfold during Peter's time as CFO and he oversaw development of a disciplined global financial strategy, robust systems and procedures, and a very strong balance sheet. Oppenheimer continues his contributions as a member of the Board of Directors of Goldman Sachs and through active involvement at his alma mater, Cal Poly.

"Larkin Street Youth Services does incredible work with young people in the Bay Area, and I'm deeply humbled to receive this honor and proud to help further their efforts" said Peter Oppenheimer.

Past recipients of the Hall of Fame - Lifetime Achievement Award are Patrick Pichette, Google; Bob Swan, eBay Inc.; Byron Pollitt, Visa; Sharon McCollam, Williams-Sonoma; Larry Carter, Cisco Systems; Robert Wayman, Hewlett-Packard; Peter Darbee, PG &E; Andy Bryant, Intel; Jeff Henley, Oracle; and Lou Lavigne, Genentech.

Finalists for the Bay Area CFO of the Year will be announced in March and the winners will be announced at the dinner and awards ceremony on May 12, 2016. Finalists and winners will be chosen by a blue ribbon independent Selection Panel comprised of business and academic leaders including: Alison Davis, Managing Partner, Fifth Era, Board Member: Royal Bank of Scotland, Diamond Foods, Fiserv, Unisys, and Ooma; Mary Huss, Publisher, San Francisco Business Times; Sharon McCollam, Winner, 2012 Hall of Fame – Lifetime Achievement Award, Chief Administrative Officer and Chief Financial Officer, Best Buy; Byron Pollitt, Winner, 2013 Hall of Fame – Lifetime Achievement Award, Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Visa; Richard Rosenberg, Retired Chief Executive Officer, Bank of America.

About The Bay Area CFO of the Year Awards

Now in its 11th year, The Bay Area CFO of the Year Awards event is a partnership between the San Francisco Business Times and Larkin Street Youth Services. The event has raised over $4.3 million to benefit Larkin Street Youth Services and the homeless youth they serve. Title Sponsor for the 2016 Bay Area CFO of the Year Awards is Deloitte.

About Larkin Street Youth Services

San Francisco's Larkin Street Youth Services is an internationally recognized leader in providing effective education, employment, housing, and health services to at-risk, homeless, and runaway youth. Larkin Street reaches youth ages 12 – 24 throughout San Francisco. Three out of four youth who complete the organization's comprehensive programs exit street life. For more information, please visit

Learn more and follow us online: Facebook, @LarkinStreet, LinkedIn, and YouTube

A photo accompanying this release is available at:

Kathleen Stavis     
(415) 673.0911 ext. 305