SAN FRANCISCO, CA--(Marketwired - February 01, 2016) -  PLMA (Peak Load Management Alliance) is accepting nominations through March 4 for the best electricity peak load and demand response management programs, initiatives, and achievements in calendar year 2015 for its 13th PLMA Awards Program. The awards will be presented at the 17th PLMA Spring Conference set for April 19-20 in San Francisco.

The 13th PLMA Awards Program, for achievements during calendar year 2015 will recognize industry leaders who create innovative ideas, methods, programs and technologies that manage end use loads in order to meet peak load needs, mitigate price risks and support successful grid integration of distributed generation assets. PLMA Awards Committee Co-Chair, Brian Solsbee, P.E. of the Tennessee Valley Authority remarked, "Integrated Demand Side Management has been a high potential concept for many years. The proliferation of distributed energy resources has made IDSM an imperative for the utility community and consumers of energy alike. Practitioners of demand response continue to lead and respond to the challenge, developing innovative solutions and business models that deliver on the promise of the smart grid. The PLMA awards program exists in order recognize, support and promote these innovations and innovators."

Award Committee Co-Chair Raymond Pustinger of Alternative Energy Systems Consulting observed, "It's an exciting time in demand response and peak load management. The straightforward need to curtail loads during a mid-afternoon peak has evolved to include the management of shifting peaks through complex load following strategies, real time and geographically selective control of demand response portfolios, distributed generation assets and advanced energy storage media. The awards committee is very excited to see what this year's nominations will bring."

Over the past 12 years, PLMA has presented over 55 awards to recipients who have included utilities, curtailment providers, end-users, and individuals responsible for demand response efforts targeted to the residential, commercial, industrial and agricultural customer markets. Nominations are sought in the following award categories:

  • Program Pacesetter - Recognizes outstanding programs that effectively support and deliver peak load management.
  • Technology Pioneer - Recognizes innovative applications of technology with demonstrated potential to scale.
  • Outstanding Thought Leader - recognizes the impact of projects, outreach campaigns and individual contributions that have the potential to shape the industry's future.

PLMA members and non-members alike are encouraged to submit nominations. Self-nominations are appropriate. One or more awards will be presented in each category with sub-categories for Utilities, Regulators, ISO/RTO, Aggregator, Marketer, Consumer, Solutions Provider, Manufacturer, Individual, Organization or Project.

Learn More at

Contact Information:

Contact Information
Ed Thomas
Executive Director, PLMA
(707) 652-5333