CALGARY, AB--(Marketwired - May 03, 2016) - The following matter was voted upon at the Annual Meeting of Shareholders of Encana Corporation (TSX: ECA)(NYSE: ECA) (the "Corporation") held on May 3, 2016 in Calgary, Alberta. The matter is described in greater detail in the Notice of 2016 Annual Meeting of Shareholders and Information Circular dated March 1, 2016 (the "Circular").

  1. Election of Directors

By resolution passed via ballot, the following 11 nominees were appointed as Directors of the Corporation to serve until the next annual meeting of shareholders of the Corporation, or until their successors are elected or appointed. The results of the ballot were as follows:

Name of Nominee Votes For Percent Votes Withheld Percent
Peter A. Dea 518,537,447 99.50% 2,623,541 0.50%
Fred J. Fowler 515,716,386 98.96% 5,444,602 1.04%
Howard J. Mayson 517,612,094 99.32% 3,548,894 0.68%
Lee A. McIntire 515,633,084 98.94% 5,527,904 1.06%
Margaret A. McKenzie 515,049,676 98.83% 6,111,312 1.17%
Suzanne P. Nimocks 515,665,506 98.95% 5,495,482 1.05%
Jane L. Peverett 511,999,675 98.24% 9,161,313 1.76%
Brian G. Shaw 518,662,159 99.52% 2,498,829 0.48%
Douglas J. Suttles 518,629,931 99.51% 2,531,057 0.49%
Bruce G. Waterman 516,238,259 99.06% 4,922,729 0.94%
Clayton H. Woitas 517,284,961 99.26% 3,875,000 0.74%

Encana Corporation

Encana is a leading North American energy producer that is focused on developing its strong portfolio of resource plays, held directly and indirectly through its subsidiaries, producing natural gas, oil and natural gas liquids (NGLs). By partnering with employees, community organizations and other businesses, Encana contributes to the strength and sustainability of the communities where it operates. Encana common shares trade on the Toronto and New York stock exchanges under the symbol ECA.

Contact Information:

Further information on Encana Corporation is available on the company's website,, or by contacting:

Investor contact:
Brendan McCracken 
Vice-President, Investor Relations 
(403) 645-2978 

Patti Posadowski 
Sr. Advisor, Investor Relations 
(403) 645-2252

Media contact:
Simon Scott 
Vice-President, Communications 
(403) 645-2526

Jay Averill 
Director, Media Relations 
(403) 645-6553