TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - May 04, 2016) -  Primero Mining Corp. ("Primero" or the "Company") (TSX: P) (NYSE: PPP) announces that today, at its Annual General and Special Meeting of Shareholders (the "Meeting"), all Directors nominated as listed in the Management Information Circular dated March 22, 2016 were re-elected.

The detailed results are as follows:

Director Votes For   %   Withheld Votes   %
Wade Nesmith 109,208,954   98.06   2,160,202   1.94
Joseph Conway 109,731,083   98.53   1,638,073   1.47
David Demers 101,906,947   91.50   9,462,209   8.50
Grant Edey 94,284,473   84.66   17,084,683   15.34
Eduardo Luna 94,581,315   84.93   16,787,841   15.07
Brad Marchant 110,791,854   99.48   577,302   0.52
Ernest Mast 110,283,330   99.03   1,085,826   0.97
Robert Quartermain 101,740,415   91.35   9,628,741   8.65
Michael Riley 104,242,898   93.60   7,126,258   6.40

In addition, Primero reports that shareholders voted in favour of the Company's amended Stock Option Plan, the amended 2013 Phantom Share Unit Plan, and the advisory vote on Executive Compensation ("Say on Pay").

About Primero

Primero Mining Corp. is a Canadian-based precious metals producer that owns 100% of the San Dimas gold-silver mine and the Cerro del Gallo gold-silver-copper development project in Mexico and 100% of the Black Fox mine and adjoining properties in the Township of Black River‐Matheson near Timmins, Ontario, Canada. Primero offers immediate exposure to un-hedged, below average cash cost gold production with a substantial resource base in politically stable jurisdictions. The Company is focused on becoming a leading intermediate gold producer by building a portfolio of high quality, low cost precious metals assets in the Americas.

Primero's website is

Attachment Available:

Contact Information:

For further information, please contact:
Evan Young
Manager, Investor Relations
Tel: (416) 814-2694