CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - June 1, 2016) - Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX:BTE)(NYSE:BTE) reports that the nominees listed in its Information Circular-Proxy Statement for the 2016 Annual and Special Meeting of Shareholders were elected as directors. Detailed results of the vote for the election of directors held at the Annual and Special Meeting held earlier today are set out below.

Name of Nominee
Votes For Votes Withheld
# % # %
James L. Bowzer 70,554,678 98.48% 1,086,984 1.52%
John A. Brussa 50,317,752 70.24% 21,323,910 29.76%
Raymond T. Chan 66,136,233 92.32% 5,505,429 7.68%
Edward Chwyl 70,031,638 97.75% 1,610,024 2.25%
Naveen Dargan 70,510,839 98.42% 1,130,823 1.58%
R.E.T. (Rusty) Goepel 70,683,742 98.66% 957,920 1.34%
Gregory K. Melchin 70,741,121 98.74% 900,541 1.26%
Mary Ellen Peters 70,684,789 98.66% 956,873 1.34%
Dale O. Shwed 69,085,095 96.43% 2,556,567 3.57%

For complete voting results, please see our Report of Voting Results which will be available tomorrow through SEDAR at and EDGAR at

Baytex Energy Corp. is an oil and gas corporation based in Calgary, Alberta. The company is engaged in the acquisition, development and production of crude oil and natural gas in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin and in the Eagle Ford in the United States. Approximately 78% of Baytex's production is weighted toward crude oil and natural gas liquids. Baytex's common shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol BTE.

For further information about Baytex, please visit our website at

Contact Information:

Baytex Energy Corp.
Brian Ector
Senior Vice President, Capital Markets and Public Affairs
Toll Free Number: 1-800-524-5521