VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - June 10, 2016) - The Treaty Commission congratulates Grand Chief Edward John, Cheryl Casimer, and Robert Phillips on being re-elected to the First Nations Summit Task Group, and Leah George-Wilson and Ray Harris on being re-elected Co-Chairs. All five will serve another three-year term.

The Treaty Commission welcomes the continuity this re-election brings. The three Task Group members were involved with the Multilateral Engagement Process, which resulted in a report released earlier this week. The implementation of the report's recommendations has the potential to accelerate the completion of more modern treaties in BC.

This continuity is equally important after Canada officially announced its full support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples last month. One of the core principles of the Declaration is the advancement of self-determination for Indigenous peoples. This is also a core principle of the BC treaty negotiations process. Modern treaties, fairly negotiated and honourably implemented, provide an ideal opportunity to lead the country in reconciliation.

The Treaty Commission looks forward to working with the First Nations Summit, along with the Governments of Canada and British Columbia, to effectively make progress in negotiations and advance reconciliation.

About the BC Treaty Commission

The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for overseeing treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC and First Nations in BC. It has three roles: facilitation, funding, and public information and education.

Visit to learn more about the Treaty Commission.

Contact Information:

Odette Wilson
Communications Advisor
t: 604-482-9215
c: 604-290-4059

Mark Smith
Director of Process
t: 604-482-9208