WHITEHORSE, YUKON--(Marketwired - July 6, 2016) - Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski will host Canada's 13 provincial and territorial premiers and the leaders of the five National Aboriginal Organizations in Haines Junction, Yukon on July 20. The meeting will take place on the Traditional Territory of Yukon's Champagne and Aishihik First Nations.

Media accreditation

All media attending the meeting must be accredited. Media accreditation for the 2016 Summer Meeting of Canada's Premiers will be honoured for the meeting of premiers and National Aboriginal Organization (NAO) leaders. A photo-ID badge will be provided to all accredited media.

Media who wish to cover the meeting of premiers and NAO leaders only, i.e., media who will not be covering the 2016 Summer Meeting of Canada's Premiers, must contact Kate Durand (contact information below) for accreditation. Media must present photo identification upon arrival at the media centre in Haines Junction. Media must register by July 19.

Media centre

A media centre will be located in the Grand Hall of the St. Elias Convention Centre. A unimic will also be set up in this area. The centre will be equipped with Internet access (both WiFi and a limited number of hardwired connections), a printer and power outlets. Internet speeds per device will be approximately (not guaranteed) 10 Mbps download and 1.5 Mbps upload.

Satellite truck parking

Parking for large trucks is available at the St. Elias Convention Centre. To arrange for parking, please contact Kate Durand (contact information below).

Media transportation

A shuttle will be provided to make the round-trip from Whitehorse to Haines Junction. A one-way trip from Whitehorse to Haines Junction takes approximately one and a half to two hours. Media can opt to be invoiced for travel. Please see media programme below for departure muster points.

Media programme

Wednesday, July 20
6 a.m. Shuttle departs Yukon Inn
Muster point: Lobby/reception area, Yukon Inn, Whitehorse
6:15 a.m. Shuttle departs Days Inn for Haines Junction
Muster point: Lobby/reception area, Days Inn, Whitehorse
7:45 a.m. Media centre opens
Grand Hall, St. Elias Convention Centre, Haines Junction
8:45 a.m. Photo opportunity with premiers and NAO leaders
Outside pavilion, St. Elias Convention Centre, Haines Junction
10 a.m. - 12 p.m. Tour and cultural demonstration led by the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (transportation from convention centre to cultural centre will be provided)
Da Kų Cultural Centre, Haines Junction
11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. Lunch
Grand Hall, St. Elias Convention Centre, Haines Junction
1 p.m. Media availability session with Premier Darrell Pasloski and NAO leaders
Grand Hall, St. Elias Convention Centre, Haines Junction
2:30 p.m. Shuttle departs for Yukon Inn and Days Inn, Whitehorse
3 p.m. Media centre closed


A unimic will be located in the Grand Hall of the St. Elias Convention Centre and will be available during the following hours:

8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

1:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m.

Additional Information

The five National Aboriginal Organizations comprise Assembly of First Nations (AFN), Indigenous Peoples' Assembly of Canada (IPAC) formerly Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP), Métis National Council (MNC), Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) and Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC).

Cellular reception may be limited in Haines Junction. If travelling to Haines Junction by shuttle or car, please note that there is no cellular reception between Whitehorse and Haines Junction.

Contact Information:

Kate Durand
Communications, Executive Council Office
Government of Yukon