BOSTON, MA--(Marketwired - Aug 15, 2016) - Choate, Hall & Stewart LLP announced today that 52 attorneys at the firm -- over 75 percent of the firm's equity partners -- have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2017. Best Lawyers® is based on over six million detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers, and "is regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence." Attorneys are included in Best Lawyers based entirely on peer review, and listings cannot be purchased.

Many of Choate's 52 Best Lawyers were named in multiple categories below, and three attorneys -- Jack Cinquegrana, Eric. J. Marandett, and Thomas E. Shirley -- were named "Lawyer of the Year" in Boston in their practice areas. Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the "Lawyer of the Year," making this accolade particularly significant. Receiving this designation "reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity."

Choate's Best Lawyers include:

  • Antitrust Law - Robert M. Buchanan, Jr.

  • Appellate Practice - A. Hugh Scott

  • Banking and Finance Law - Lyman G. Bullard, Jr., James A. McDaniel, Peter M. Palladino, and John F. Ventola

  • Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law - Douglas R. Gooding, Kevin J. Simard, and John F. Ventola

  • Bet-the-Company Litigation - Jack Cinquegrana, Joan A. Lukey, and A. Hugh Scott

  • Biotechnology Law - Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D. and Eric J. Marandett

  • Business Organizations - William P. Gelnaw, Jr.

  • Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law -William P. Gelnaw, Jr., A. Silvana (Nan) Giner, and Robert V. Jahrling III

  • Commercial Litigation - Michael Bunis, Mark D. Cahill, Jack Cinquegrana, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Michael T. Gass, Joan A. Lukey, Margaret H. Marshall, John A. Nadas, E. Macey Russell, A. Hugh Scott, and Daniel C. Winston

  • Copyright Law - Karen F. Copenhaver

  • Corporate Law - Stephen M. L. Cohen, William P. Gelnaw, Jr., Robert V. Jahrling III, Brian P. Lenihan, John A. Meltaus, Stephen O. Meredith, Laurence P. Naughton, Peter M. Palladino

  • Corporate Compliance Law - Michael T. Gass and Robert V. Jahrling III

  • Corporate Governance Law - Jack Cinquegrana, Michael T. Gass, and Robert V. Jahrling III

  • Criminal Defense: White Collar - Jack Cinquegrana, Diana K. Lloyd, A. Hugh Scott, and Melissa Bayer Tearney

  • Criminal Defense: General Practice - Jack Cinquegrana and Diana K. Lloyd

  • Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law - Arthur S. Meyers

  • Employment Law: Individuals - Joan A. Lukey and Thomas E. Shirley

  • Employment Law: Management - Arthur S. Meyers, Alison F. Reif, and Thomas E. Shirley (Lawyer of the Year, Boston)

  • Health Care Law - Stephen M. L. Cohen, Lee Feldman, Julia Hesse, and Christine G. Savage

  • Information Technology Law - Karen F. Copenhaver

  • Insurance Law - David A. Attisani, Mark D. Cahill, Robert A. Kole, John A. Nadas, and A. Hugh Scott

  • Labor Law: Management - Gregory C. Keating and Thomas E. Shirley

  • Litigation: Antitrust - Robert M. Buchanan, Jr.

  • Litigation: Bankruptcy - Douglas R. Gooding and John F. Ventola

  • Litigation: ERISA - Arthur S. Meyers

  • Litigation: First Amendment - Joan A. Lukey

  • Litigation: Intellectual Property - Michael Bunis, Robert S. Frank, Jr., Eric J. Marandett (Lawyer of the Year, Boston), and Daniel C. Winston

  • Litigation: Labor & Employment - Joan A. Lukey and Thomas E. Shirley

  • Litigation: Patent - Robert S. Frank, Jr. and Eric J. Marandett

  • Litigation: Personal Injury (Plaintiffs) - Joan A. Lukey

  • Litigation: Product Liability (Defendants) - Joan A. Lukey

  • Litigation: Securities - Jack Cinquegrana (Lawyer of the Year, Boston) and Diana K. Lloyd

  • Mergers & Acquisitions Law - Stephen M. L. Cohen, William P. Gelnaw, Jr., and Robert V. Jahrling III

  • Non-Profit/Charities Law - Charles A. Cheever

  • Patent Law - Karen Copenhaver and Brenda Herschbach Jarrell, Ph.D.

  • Private Funds/Hedge Funds Law - Louis J. Marett

  • Project Finance Law - James A. McDaniel and Peter M. Palladino

  • Real Estate Law - David B. Currie and Michael S. Sophocles

  • Securities/Capital Markets Law - Robert V. Jahrling III

  • Securities Regulation - John R. Pitfield

  • Securitization and Structured Finance Law - Peter M. Palladino

  • Sports Law - Lyman G. Bullard, Jr.

  • Tax Law - Louis J. Marett

  • Technology Law - John A. Meltaus

  • Trusts & Estates - Kristin T. Abati, Charles A. Cheever, John Cornish, A. Silvana (Nan) Giner, William A. Lowell, Brian W. Monnich, and Jennifer C. Snyder

  • Venture Capital Law - Brian D. Goldstein, Brian P. Lenihan, and John A. Meltaus

Choate, Hall & Stewart LLP, one of the nation's leading law firms, is consistently recognized for excellence by Best Lawyers in America, Chambers USA, The Legal 500, World's Leading Lawyers, International Who's Who of Lawyers, and Expert Guides. With all of its lawyers under one roof, Choate focuses on a core group of areas where it represents clients across the United States and internationally and provides exceptional efficiency, service and value. Choate's areas of focus include intellectual property, life sciences, government enforcement & compliance, finance & restructuring, corporate/M&A, venture capital, private equity, insurance/reinsurance, high-stakes litigation, tax, and wealth management.

Contact Information:

David Egan
Choate, Hall & Stewart LLP
(617) 248-5247


Amy Blumenthal
Blumenthal & Associates
(617) 879-1511