TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Sept. 27, 2016) - The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) concluded the first day of ENERGYCONFERENCE16 by honouring the accomplishments of the Ontario energy industry's best and brightest at its annual marquee evening event the OEA ENERGYGALA.

The OEA ENERGYAWARDS recognize and reward individuals and companies acknowledged as outstanding leaders by their peers within the Ontario energy industry. It also serves as an opportunity to highlight and celebrate OEA members' successes and contributions to the sector over the past year.

"This year's winners showcase the highest standard of achievement and excellence in innovation offered by our province's energy sector," said Vince Brescia, OEA President & CEO. "It's my honour and privilege to recognize these outstanding leaders and companies in their continued efforts to build a stronger energy future for Ontario."

The 2016 OEA ENERGYAWARD recipients:

  • Brian Bentz, President & CEO, PowerStream Inc.; Max Cananzi, President & CEO, Horizon Utilities Corporation; and Peter Gregg, President & CEO, Enersource Corporation are the recipients of the OEA Leader(s) of the Year award. These individuals spearheaded the three-way merger of PowerStream, Horizon Utilities and Enersource, and the joint purchase of Hydro One Brampton creating Ontario's second largest local distribution company (LDC).

  • Hydro Ottawa, OEA Company of the Year, is recognized as a leader in the energy sector for their comprehensive implementation of environmental sustainability initiatives, a focus on strategically aligned community investments, innovative approaches to customer communication, and the creative delivery of conservation programs.

  • Energent, OEA Emerging Company of the Year, is a leading North American energy management information systems provider that enables organizations to understand, change and manage their energy usage. Using sophisticated data analytics software and expert service they provide insight into energy saving opportunities in electricity, gas, water, and other commodities, thus giving their customers much greater control over their energy use and associated costs.

  • Glenn Beaumont was selected as the inaugural recipient of the OEA's Lifetime Achievement award. Glenn's distinguished career in Ontario's energy industry began over 31 years ago, however it's in his role as President of Enbridge Gas Distribution, and his leadership in the areas of workplace safety and forging strong relationships with his employees, customers and local communities that Glenn will be best remembered.

The OEA thanks all who have ensured ENERGYCONFERENCE16 is a success and looks forward to another productive day tomorrow as OEA members continue to unravel complex energy challenges, together.

About the OEA: The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) aspires to be the most credible and trusted voice of the energy sector. We earn our reputation by being an integral and influential part of energy policy development and decision-making in Ontario. We represent Ontario's energy leaders that span the full diversity of the energy industry. Together, we are working to build a stronger energy future for Ontario.

Contact Information:

Ontario Energy Association
Gibb McGugan
Manager, Marketing & Communications