SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwired - September 29, 2016) - The Center for Digital Education (CDE) today announced its 2016 Top 30 Technologists, Transformers and Trailblazers -- 30 education and technology leaders across America who are transforming the education landscape through the use of digital tools. This year's Top 30 honorees include 24 individuals, four teams and two organizations.

The 2016 winners were selected based on their efforts to improve education through effective implementation of technology-rich solutions; their impact on student outcomes; and their overall initiative, creativity and leadership skills.

"Our 2016 Top 30 award winners are visionaries who are going against the grain to increase funding, bandwidth, privacy protocols, predictive analytics and to improve the personalization of learning. With technology as their catalyst, they are dedicated to transforming education at the local, state and national levels in ways that have a positive impact on student success," said Dr. Kecia Ray, executive director of the Center for Digital Education. "I am thrilled to recognize our award winners and applaud their achievements."

The Top 30 of 2016 represent the broad range of technology initiatives in education -- check out this infographic that highlights their achievements.

The Center for Digital Education's Top 30 Technologists, Transformers, and Trailblazers for 2016:

Luvelle Brown, Superintendent, Ithaca City School District, New York

Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Kim Clemmons, Instructional Technology Supervisor, Wilson County Schools, Tennessee

S. Dallas Dance, Superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools, Maryland

Deans for Impact

Chris Dede, Wirth Professor in Learning Technologies, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Massachusetts

Tristan Denley, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Tennessee Board of Regents

Mark Edwards, Former Superintendent, Mooresville Graded School District, North Carolina; Senior Vice President of Digital Learning at Discovery Education

Ginann Franklin, Director of Libraries and Educational Technology, Currey Ingram Academy, Tennessee

Nicole Galloway, Missouri State Auditor

Marie Izquierdo, Chief Academic Officer, Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Florida

Daphne Koller, Co-Founder, Coursera

Keith Krueger, CEO, CoSN -- the Consortium for School Networking

Angelique Nedved, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning, Lawrence Public Schools, Kansas

Lisa Nielsen, Director of Digital Engagement and Professional Learning, New York City Department of Education

Sunay Palsole, Associate Vice Provost for Digital Learning, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Hadi Partovi, CEO,

Jim Peterson, Chief Technology Officer, Bloomington School District 87, Illinois

Megan Power, Learning Experience Designer, Design39Campus, California

Jason Rhode, Director of the Faculty Development and Instructional Design Center, Northern Illinois University

Joe Sargent, Assistant Vice President of Information and Educational Technologies, Walters State Community College, Tennessee

Philip Schreur, Assistant University Librarian for Technical and Access Services, Stanford University, California

Joseph South, Director, Office of Educational Technology, U.S. Department of Education

Team Denton Independent School District, Texas
Marcus Bourland, Principal, LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex
Tonya Tivis, Culinary Arts and Hospitality Instructor, LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex
Jamie Wilson, Superintendent of Schools

Team E2D -- Eliminate the Digital Divide
Franny Millen, Co-Founder
Pat Millen, Co-Founder and President

Team High Tech High, California
Ben Daley, Chief Academic Officer
Kay Davis, Secretary, High Tech High School Board
Gary Jacobs, Co-Founder and Chairman of the Board of Trustees
Larry Rosenstock, Chief Executive Officer

Team Omaha Public Schools, Nebraska
Rob Dickson, Executive Director, Information Management Services
Mark Evans, Superintendent of Schools

Kara Van Dam, Vice Provost for the Learner and Faculty Experience, University of Maryland University College

Cynthia Vavasseur, Associate Professor, Coordinator of Graduate Studies, College of Education, Nicholls State University, Louisiana

Mia Kim Williams, Associate Professor of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology Coordinator, Department of Educational Technology, University of Northern Colorado

See full profiles of the Top 30 in the newest issue of Converge and at and follow #CDEtop30 on social media to get the latest information.

CDE thanks CDW-G for underwriting the 2016 Top 30 awards.

About the Center for Digital Education

The Center for Digital Education is a national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy and funding. CDE provides education and industry leaders with decision support and actionable insight to help effectively incorporate new technologies in the 21st century.

CDE is a division of e.Republic, the nation's only media and research company focused exclusively on state and local government and education.

Contact Information:

Elaine Pittman
Contributing Managing Editor, Converge
e.Republic | Center for Digital Education