PHILADELPHIA, PA--(Marketwired - May 22, 2017) - The National Lipid Association (NLA) announced the election of new President James A. Underberg, MD, MS, FACPM, FACP, FASPC, FNLA, on Saturday at the 2017 Scientific Sessions in Philadelphia.

"It is an honor to be asked to serve as president of the NLA," said Underberg. "It is an exciting time to be a clinical lipidologist, and the NLA plays an important role in supporting both clinical care and research in the field of lipidology. The NLA leads the way in education of both our members and other professionals who care for and treat patients with lipid disorders. Our ongoing commitment to educating and updating these groups continues to be a prime interest of mine. The upcoming year promises to be one where the NLA will offer updated guidance in the field of lipidology and at the same time reach out and collaborate with other organizations to help promote our mission."

Underberg is a clinical assistant professor of medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine in the divisions of General Internal Medicine & Endocrinology. He is also the director of the Bellevue Hospital Lipid Clinic and a member of the Center of Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease at NYU.

Underberg's clinical focus is preventive cardiovascular medicine, where he specializes in the management of patients with lipids and lipoprotein disorders, hypertension management and cardiovascular disease prevention. He graduated from Yale University with a bachelor's degree and master's degree and completed his doctorate degree at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Underberg's internship and residency were completed at Bellevue Hospital Medical Center. As president, he will continue in his role as scientific meeting co-planner for the NLA. Additionally, he serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical Lipidology. Underberg is a board member of the Foundation of the National Lipid Association, the American Society of Preventive Cardiology (ASPC), and the American Board of Clinical Lipidology. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Lipidology, and a fellow of the NLA.

Other NLA officers for the 2017-2018 term are President-Elect Alan S. Brown, MD, FACC, FAHA, FNLA; Secretary/Treasurer Antonio M. Gotto, MD, DPhil, FNLA; Executive Council Chair Dean A. Bramlet, MD, FNLA; Executive Council Chair Joseph J. Saseen, PharmD, CLS, FNLA; Executive Council Chair Elizabeth J. Jackson, CNS, MSN, CLS, FNLA; and Immediate Past President Joyce Ross, CRNP, MSN, ANP, CLS, FPCNA, FNLA.


The NLA is a multidisciplinary specialty society focused on prevention of cardiovascular disease and other lipid-related disorders. The NLA's mission is to enhance the practice of lipid management in clinical medicine, and one of its goals is to enhance efforts to reduce death and disability related to disorders of lipid metabolism in patients. Members include physicians (MDs and DOs), as well as clinical team affiliates, from an array of disciplines including PhD researchers, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, exercise physiologists, and dietitians.

Image Available:,_James-aa8e369bfd4ea50599d49fd966a6d26e.jpg

Contact Information:

Eric Scott
(904) 885-2171