Butkus Award® 33rd Season College and High School Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, Nov. 20, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) --

Finalists for the 33rd annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best collegiate and high school linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation.

Butkus Award 2017 Collegiate Finalists
Devin Bush Michigan
Tremaine Edmunds Virginia Tech
T.J. Edwards Wisconsin
Dorian O'Daniel Clemson
Roquan Smith Georgia

Butkus Award 2017 High School Finalists
Matthew Bauer Cathedral Prep School, Erie, Pa.
Bo Calvert Oaks Christian, Westlake Village, Calif.
Palaie Gaoteote Bishop Gorman, Las Vegas, Nev.
Teradja Mitchell Bishop Sullivan, Virginia Beach, Va.
Solomon Tuliaupupu Mater Dei, Santa Ana, Calif.

Collegiate and prep winners will be announced on or before December 6. The pro winner will be announced in early 2018. Selection is handled by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 process with write-ins allowed. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at www.thebutkusaward.com.

The 2016 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders
  • Collegiate: Reuben Foster, Alabama (now San Francisco 49ers)
  • High School: Dylan Moses, IMG Academy, Bradenton, Fla. (now Alabama)

The Butkus Award® is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization which advances health and wellness through special initiatives including the I Play Clean® program. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which includes 23 awards honoring 800 individuals since 1935.

Contact Data