Central Florida Sports Commission Announces 2018 Board of Directors

New board members and key stakeholders will ensure organizational growth, increased revenue and positive economic development in the Central Florida area

Orlando, Florida, UNITED STATES

ORLANDO, Fla., Jan. 30, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Central Florida Sports Commission (CFSC) announces today, its 2018 Board of Directors and key stakeholders. The new board members will provide guidance, direction and oversight to attract, create and host sporting events, entertainment events and activities in the 2018 calendar year, while stakeholders will also play a vital role in community planning.

“Celebrating our 25th Anniversary, the Central Florida Sports Commission is proud to formally introduce our board of directors and stakeholders for this calendar year,” said Jason Siegel, CEO of the Central Florida Sports Commission. “We have assembled an incredible team of talented local business leaders that will propel the Central Florida Sports Commission to new heights within the sports entertainment industry.”

“It is truly an honor to have been selected to lead this group of innovative business executives from across Central Florida,” said Dan Malasky, Board Chairman. “The knowledge and experience that this team brings will assist Jason and the tremendous staff at the Central Florida Sports Commission in continuing to deliver world class sporting events to the region. Sports have played an integral role in the Greater Orlando landscape for both residents and visitors, and the Central Florida Sports Commission will continue to bring events that yield significant economic impact to our community.”

2018 Board of Directors
Executive Committee

  • Dan Malasky, United States Tennis Association
  • Michael Forde, Orlando Magic
  • Suzanne E. Gilbert, Holland & Knight
  • Paul Johns, South Lake Hospital
  • Jackie Hayter, Orlando Health

  At Large

  • Craig Borkon, Orlando Venues
  • Chris Carmody, GrayRobinson, P.A.
  • Scott Carr, UCF Athletics
  • Marci Doyle, Arnold Palmer Invitational
  • Tom Draper, Greater Orlando Aviation Authority
  • Craig Evans, Universal Orlando
  • Roseann Harrington, Orlando Utilities Commission
  • Charles Hawkins, Charles J. Hawkins II, P.A.
  • Chris Heller, Orlando Solar Bears
  • Steve Hogan, Florida Citrus Sports
  • Frank Ioppolo, Ioppolo Law Group
  • Faron Kelley, Walt Disney World / ESPN Wide World of Sports
  • Greg Lee, BakerHostetler
  • Alex Leitᾶo, Orlando City Soccer Club
  • Mercedes McCall, Sunshine Bank 
  • Jon McGavin, The Ritz Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
  • Allyson Meyers, WOFL, WRBW & WOGX-TV
  • Mike Millay, Clancy’s Sports Properties
  • John Saboor, World Wrestling Entertainment

 Advisory Board

  • Jeff Altier, Stetson University
  • Jessi Blakley, Tavistock Group
  • Bud Beucher, Mission Inn Resort & Club
  • Bob Burns, R L Burns Inc.
  • Mike Cantrell, Coca-Cola Beverages Florida
  • Garry Capton, FAIRWINDS Credit Union
  • Wendy Connor, True Marketing
  • Sean DeMartino, Coastal Construction
  • Kevin Endsley, Golf Channel
  • Tim Giuliani, Orlando Economic Partnership
  • Mike Harris, Uproar PR
  • Garry Jones, Full Sail University
  • Frank Kruppenbacher, Morgan and Morgan P.A.
  • Jesse Martinez, The Alfond Inn
  • Steve Mauldin, CNL Financial Group
  • Doug Patterson, Orange County Public Schools
  • Rick Pullum, Iberia Bank

The Central Florida Sports Commission would also like to recognize the following stakeholders that meet throughout the year to represent the community:

  • Arnold Palmer Invitational - Marci Doyle
  • Clancy’s Sports Properties - Mike Millay
  • EMMI/Track Shack - Jon Hughes
  • ESPN Wide World of Sports - Fred Schoeler
  • Florida Citrus Sports - Steve Hogan
  • Full Sail University - Josh Mora
  • Orange County Convention Center - Rodney Gutierrez
  • Orlando City Soccer Club - Fred Pollastri
  • Orlando Magic - Michael Forde
  • Orlando Solar Bears - Chris Heller
  • Orlando Sports Foundation - Alan Gooch
  • Orlando Venues - Craig Borkon
  • Osceola Heritage Park - Robb Larson
  • Rollins College - Pennie Parker
  • Seminole State College - Kurt Esser
  • Stetson University - Michael Cherry
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Luke Burket
  • UCF Athletics - Scott Carr
  • USTA National Campus - Georgiana Brown
  • Visit Orlando - Larry Henrichs

For more information on the Central Florida Sports Commission, board members, and the 2018 calendar of events, visit www.centralfloridasports.org

About Central Florida Sports Commission:
The Central Florida Sports Commission (CFSC) is a private, non-profit organization established to attract and manage sports-related events, conferences and activities that drive positive economic development in the City of Orlando, Orange County, Seminole County, Osceola County and Lake County. Founded in 1993, the CFSC has hosted or co-hosted more than 1,200 events in Central Florida with a total economic impact exceeding $1.4 billion in spending within our community. For more information, please visit www.centralfloridasports.org.

Media Contact:
Elizabeth Landy
Uproar PR for Central Florida Sports Commission
321-236-0102 x232