The 2017 CDA Awards Salute Those in Dermatology Demonstrating Excellence

Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA

OTTAWA, June 19, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Canadian Dermatology Association proudly announces the recipients of this year’s awards for demonstrating excellence in Canadian dermatology education, research and leadership.

Award of Merit – Dr. Alain Brassard

Dr. Brassard is being recognized for his enduring commitment to the CDA and to the field of Dermatology in general.  Elected as Treasurer of the CDA (2015-2017), Dr. Brassard has also served as an elected member of the Ethics Committee (2014-2017), the Québec regional representative from 2006-2007 on the Board of Directors and has been chairing and organizing the New Investigators Program at the CDA Annual Conference since 2011. He is also a member of the Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee.  In addition, from 1994 until 2001 he was the Founder and Director of the Leg Ulcer Clinic in Sacre-Coeur Hospital in Montreal, which at the time, was the largest in Canada.  He has continued his work in Wound Healing at McGill University and the University of Alberta where he is currently.  He is a noted world expert in wound healing who has lectured nationally and internationally.  Also, he has been organizing as Chair the Wound Healing Session at the CDA Annual Conference since 2005.  Furthermore, in his role as Chair of the Dermatology Examination Board at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, he has worked tirelessly to establish high evaluation standards anchored by fairness and transparency. As the current Chair of the Specialty Committee for Dermatology at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, he leads the In-Depth review of the Specialty and the committee in itself that is the steward of many issues regarding the specialty in Canada such as training structure of Canadian Dermatology programs.  Dr. Brassard’s accomplishments are hallmarks of his continuing leadership and contribution to the field of Dermatology, which exemplify the spirit of the Award of Merit.

Practitioner of the Year Award – Dr. Afsaneh Alavi

Dr. Alavi is the first recipient of the CDA Practitioner of the Year Award, an award that recognizes contributions to the field of dermatology and the community through clinical practice and in providing the best possible care. Dr. Alavi, a consulting dermatologist at Women’s College Hospital, Toronto, and assistant professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto, is being honoured for bringing an orphan skin disease called Hidradenitis suppurativa (HS) into the spotlight for Canadian dermatologists. She founded the Canadian Hidradenitis Suppurativa Foundation, authored a paper on HS that was published in the CDA Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, co-chaired and organized the first-ever symposium on HS last fall, and has provided exceptional care to patients suffering from the chronic skin condition.

Barney Usher Research Award in Dermatology – Dr. Sunil Kalia

Dr. Kalia, Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology and Skin Science at the University of British Columbia is being recognized for his research involving the melanin quantification by in vitro and in vivo analysis of near-infrared florescence. What is particularly noteworthy is his exploration of a non-invasive, novel method as a potential tool to measure melanin to differentiate between melanoma from benign pigmentary lesions, and to monitor disease progression and treatment response in other pigmentary disorders.

Louis Vogel Resident’s Writing Award – Dr. Adriane Schreiber

Dr. Schreiber, a resident in Dermatology at Universite Laval receives the writing award for her paper, Generalized Recalcitrant Pruritus as the Presenting Manifestation of Hypereosinophilic Syndrome, which appeared in the CDA’s Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery. The award is presented to a dermatology resident who has contributed significantly to the body of knowledge in the field of dermatology through their written work. Hypereosinophilic Syndrome (HES) is a group of rare blood disorders marked by an abnormally high number of a type of white blood cell called eosinophils, which can cause damage and disease in the skin, heart and other organs affected. Dr. Schreiber’s article highlights vigilance in properly diagnosing HES and including HES in the differential diagnosis of HES.

The awards reception and ceremony will take place at the Fredericton Convention Centre on June 24, 2017 during the CDA Annual Conference in Fredericton, NB.

About the CDA Awards

The CDA awards recognize excellence, successes and dedication in the specialty of dermatology. This year’s recipients will be honoured at the CDA’s President’s Banquet in Fredericton, NB on June 24, 2017. Media are encouraged to attend, providing advance notice to the media contact listed at the end of this release.

About the CDA

The Canadian Dermatology Association, founded in 1925, represents Canadian dermatologists. The association provides easy access to the largest, most reliable source of medical knowledge on dermatology. CDA exists to advance the science and art of medicine and surgery related to the care of the skin, hair and nails; provide continuing professional development for its members; support and advance patient care; provide public education on sun protection and other aspects of skin health; and promote a lifetime of healthier skin, hair and nails. By doing so, CDA informs and empowers both medical professionals and the Canadian public. To learn more about the work of CDA visit or join the conversation on or


Contact Data