Longlist Announced for BC’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, One of Canada’s Largest Book Prizes

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, Nov. 01, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The jury for the 14th Annual BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada’s leading literary non-fiction prizes, has selected its longlist for 2018.

Over 150 books by 45 publishers were nominated for the $40,000 prize from across the country. The prize jury has selected the following longlist of 10 books.

Island of the Blue Foxes: Disaster and Triumph on Bering's Great Voyage to Alaska

Stephen R. BownDouglas &McIntyre
Vimy: The Battle and the LegendTim CookPenguin Canada: Allen Lane
Run, Hide, Repeat: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood

Pauline Dakin

Penguin Canada: Viking
Game Change: The Life and Death of Steve Montador and the Future of Hockey

Ken Dryden  McClelland & Stewart: Signal
Better Now: Six Big Ideas to Improve Health Care for All Canadians  Dr. Danielle 

Penguin Canada: Allen Lane
Life on the Ground Floor: Letters from the Edge of Emergency MedicineJames Maskalyk

Penguin Random House Canada: Doubleday Canada
All We Leave Behind: A Reporter’s Journey into the Lives of Others

Carol Off

Penguin Random House Canada: Random House Canada
Maximum Canada: Why 35 Million Canadians Are Not Enough  Doug Saunders

Penguin Random House Canada: Alfred A. Knopf Canada
Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City

Tanya Talaga

House of Anansi Press
The Patch: The People, Pipelines, and Politics of the Oil Sands

Chris Turner

Simon and Schuster Canada

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will announce its shortlist on December 1, 2017 and the award will be presented in Vancouver in early 2018.

The jury for the 2018 Award comprises:
Jan Walter, Jury Chair, editor, publishing executive, bookseller and former Chair of the Kingston WritersFest Board.
Rick Antonson, author, book publisher, lecturer and former CEO of Tourism Vancouver.
Eliza Reid, co-founder of Iceland Writers’ Retreat, writer, editor and currently the First Lady of Iceland.

“This year’s longlist proves once again that Canadian writers of non-fiction, and their books, are alive and well,” said BC Achievement Foundation Chair, Scott McIntyre.  “To misquote Mark Twain: the rumours of the death of real books are greatly exaggerated. This is a sterling longlist:  congratulations to all the writers, and thanks to our distinguished jury."

Previous winners of the BC National Award  for Canadian Non-Fiction include:

  • Sandra Martin for A Good Death: Making the Most of Our Final Choices (2017)
  • Rosemary Sullivan for Stalin’s Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva (2016)
  • Karyn L. Freedman for One Hour in Paris: A True Story of Rape and Recovery (2015)
  • Thomas King for The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America (2014)
  • Modris Eksteins for Solar Dance: Genius, Forgery and the Crisis of Truth in the Modern Age (2013)
  • Charlotte Gill for Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with The Tree-Planting Tribe (2012)
  • John Vaillant for The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival (2011)
  • Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon: A Father’s Search for His Disabled Son (2010)
  • Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House (2009)
  • Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River: A Memory of My Mother and Her People (2008)
  • Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What’s Yours? (2007)
  • Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006)
  • Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005)

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of British Columbia in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. This is the 14th year the award will be presented.

For more information on BC’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction and on submission guidelines, please visit www.bcachievement.com.

Contact: Cathryn Wilson, ED                                                                www.bcachievement.com
British Columbia Achievement Foundation                                           info@bcachievement.com