Washington, Feb. 14, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Board of Directors of the National Academy of Social Insurance has approved the election of 45 distinguished social insurance experts to the Academy, adding to the total active Membership of over 1,100. (A complete list of individuals newly-elected to the Academy can be found below.)

The Academy advances solutions to challenges facing the nation by increasing public understanding of how social insurance contributes to economic security. This mission encompasses established social insurance programs – Workers’ Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid – as well as related policy areas, including long-term services and supports, paid leave, other social assistance programs, and private employee benefits.

“Members are essential to the Academy’s work,” says William Arnone, the Academy’s Chief Executive Officer. “We welcome our newest cohort with great excitement. They bring a wealth of expertise and experience across a range of policy areas that affect every person and family in this nation. We look forward to recognizing their contributions to social insurance policy and engaging their talents in support of the Academy’s mission.”

 "This year's newly-elected Academy Members are among our country's leading reformers, doers, and creative thinkers. Their work focuses on the practical challenges of how we protect each other when faced with life's financial and health hardships that are difficult to handle alone. In addition to longstanding programs like Social Security, Medicare and unemployment insurance, they also address how we tackle increasingly important issues, such as paid family leave. ”  – Shaun O’Brien, Membership Committee Chair

Those elected to Membership in the Academy have distinguished themselves by improving the quality of research, administration, or policymaking in an area of social insurance. Academy Members make significant contributions to the Academy’s research, education, and leadership development initiatives by volunteering their time on study panels, committees, at conferences and in other Academy programs.

Prospective Members are nominated by current Academy Members in recognition of their significant and ongoing professional contributions to the field of social insurance. For more information about Membership in the Academy and a full list of active Members, please visit the “Membership in NASI” section of the Academy’s website (

Individuals elected to Membership and their affiliations at the time of nomination:

Eileen Appelbaum
Center for Economic Policy Research

Charles Barrilleaux
Florida State University

Romina Boccia
The Heritage Foundation

Kyle Burkhalter
Social Security Administration

Joel Cantor
Rutgers University 

Anne Case
Princeton University 

Amitabh Chandra
Harvard Kennedy School 

Angus Deaton
Princeton University 

Marcus Dillender
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research 

Tammy Dixon
Segal Consulting 

Camille Dobson

Patricia Gabow
Denver Health 

Ben Gitis
American Action Forum 

Kali Grant
Georgetown Center on Poverty and Inequality 

Kathy Greenlee
Greenlee Global, LLC

Tracey Gronniger
Justice in Aging 

Kristina Hamilton
UDW/AFSCME Local 3930 

Dan Hawkins
Association of Community Health Centers 

Tara O'Neill Hayes
American Action Forum 

Amy Herr
West Health Policy Center 

Hilary Hoynes
University of California, Berkeley 

Abbie Hudgens
Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation 

Elisabeth Jacobs
Washington Center for Equitable Growth 

Kathleen Kennedy Townsend
Economic Policy Institute 

Desmond King
Nuffield College, Oxford University 

David Laibson
Harvard University

Margie Lariviere
State Compensation Insurance Fund 

Nicole Maestas
Harvard Medical School 

Victor Miller
Economic and Management Consulting

Stipica Mudrazija
Urban Institute 

Kathleen Mullen
RAND Corporation 

Nicole Nestoriak
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics 

Amanda Ream
United Domestic Workers, AFSCME 

Eveka Rodriguez
Grant Thornton LLP 

Marth Roherty
Executive Director NASUAD

Matt Salo
National Association of Medicaid Directors 

Richard Scheffler
UC Berkeley School of Public Health 

Lauren Schmitz
National Institute on Aging 

Sara Sills
Medicaid Branch, Office of Management and Budget 

Katrinka Sloan

Michael Stephens
Social Security Administration

Aaron Tripp

Mark Walls
Safety National Casualty Corporation 

Richard Wharton
Social Security Administration

James Ziliak
University of Kentucky, Center for Poverty Research


The National Academy of Social Insurance is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization made up of the nation’s leading experts on social insurance. Its mission is to advance solutions to challenges facing the nation by increasing public understanding of how social insurance contributes to economic security.



Contact Data